AnyRail Model Railroad Forum

General Category => New versions => Topic started by: David on May 18, 2016, 04:09:51 pm

Title: Version 6
Post by: David on May 18, 2016, 04:09:51 pm
Hi all!

Finally, version 6 sees the light.
There have been many problems getting the 3D view to work well enough, but in most cases it will now yield an acceptable first result.
Of course, in the future, it will be improved further, but we did not want to make you wait any longer.

Of course, for anyone having a license for version 5, this upgrade is completely free.

If you have an older license, you can upgrade at 50% of the normal 'new' price.
Please use this link if you want to take advantage of that:
https://www.anyrail.com/upgrade_request_en.html (https://www.anyrail.com/upgrade_request_en.html)

Thanks for your patience, and we hope you enjoy this fresh new release.

David.


Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Mike from CT on May 18, 2016, 05:20:35 pm
Is something missing (like a link to the download for version 6)?

Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 18, 2016, 05:23:44 pm
You can download the new version from the website:
https://www.anyrail.com
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Tom Springer on May 19, 2016, 11:13:26 am
David,

Clicking on the "help" icon on the top right of the screen is getting a "failed to launch help" message.  Could this be because I downloaded the msi file from the website, instead of using the update option in 5.25.2  ?
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 19, 2016, 11:18:16 am
This is because the link is not working correctly. It'll be fixed in the next update.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Tom Springer on May 19, 2016, 11:19:44 am
Thanks.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 20, 2016, 05:35:59 pm
Version 6.0.22 (today's bugfix release) fixes the problem opening the Help. Please note that at this point, the help file is only availabe in English. German, French and Dutch will follow in time.

This version also uses DirectX instead of OpenGL for 3D rendering. A few people had problems with OpenGL.
One drawback is that the 'snapshot' function in the 3D view does not work anymore on a secondary screen.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Future-Digital on May 20, 2016, 11:03:04 pm
Hello, David;

Logged into the first trial release of 6 and it started to update to a newer version. It got stuck because it could not close the earlier version. I had to close it manually and then hit "OK" to get it to finish.

Looking good otherwise.

Find myself looking for updates daily, even though I KNOW that you can't humanly work that fast. I am very eager to see just what will evolve.

Bill
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Dylan Cole on May 21, 2016, 09:50:34 am
Looking good  8)

Currently the only issue I have is the track icons are rather small on a UHD (3840 x 2160) resolution screen, this is also the case on a HD (1920 x 1080) screen.
Title: Version 6 Screen color
Post by: Tom Springer on May 22, 2016, 09:55:36 am
Is there a way in V6 to get the V5 "blue" that filled the screen (outside the work area) when working on a layout?  When I have a new layout open and empty, it's in the same "white" color as the rest of the AR screen (that lies behind the work area).  Hard on old eyes to tell where the layout edges are and "outside the work area" is.  I can choose not to center the work area and then add a thick border, but that's making working with V6 harder than V5 was.
Title: Version 6 User Objects ordering
Post by: Tom Springer on May 22, 2016, 10:11:27 am
I have my own (special) "user objects" library containing "yardsticks" for common measurements I use to place items relative to each other; I named this collection/library "_measurements" (i.e., manufacture name's is "_measurements"); the underscore at the front of the name places it alphabetically before all the other entries in the user objects folder and V5 displays it at the beginning of the user object choices when the tab is selected.

In V6 it displays as the last user object entry, as if the name's sort order doesn't matter.  Is there a way to get the name order adjusted so I can get my collection at the beginning of the entries?  (It appears V6 displays all user-defined object collections at the end of the grouping.)

If one were to create a new object in V6 and click on the list of manufactures during the creation process, the list is "correctly" sorted alphabetically and my "_measurements" is at the top of the list, not the bottom.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: wildman on May 23, 2016, 03:15:44 am
So, in 3D view all we can see is the trackwork?
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 23, 2016, 09:50:50 am
Yes, and a landscape is created to make it easier to see where the track is.

Other scenery items will be added in time.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 23, 2016, 09:52:58 am
@Tom: Ordering user items and creating user libraries are on the wish list. Not planned yet however.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Mike from CT on May 23, 2016, 12:29:32 pm
Quote from: wildman on May 23, 2016, 03:15:44 am
So, in 3D view all we can see is the trackwork?


Tunnels (and bridges and embankments) are a few of the features that have been implemented (and you have no idea how many headaches the attached "Climb From Hell" caused David during development of V6.... :)
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Tom Springer on May 23, 2016, 12:34:57 pm
Quote from: David on May 23, 2016, 09:52:58 am
@Tom: Ordering user items and creating user libraries are on the wish list. Not planned yet however.


David, ok.  It's just that the V5 behavior had them in order and V6 changed so they are not.  I'll adjust to how it now is.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: TodaProduction on May 23, 2016, 04:07:31 pm
Hello, David;

  Thanks to V6 release.
  I tried a V6, but I think that there is a little trouble.
  For example,

    1. Open layout
    2. 3D screen is displayed when you press the 3D view button on the ribbon
    3. Click the 2D design view button on the ribbon
    4. Screen is not initialized, it remains the 3D display is displayed

  Due to the above-described problems is the state it is difficult to try V6
  completely. I hope that this problem can be improved quickly.

   P.S.
        I began to make an immediately new Japanese localization file :-)
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 23, 2016, 04:14:24 pm
@Toda, so in your case the program does not switch back to 2D?
Did you see the 3D representation at all?
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: TodaProduction on May 23, 2016, 04:44:20 pm
David;
  Yes, I look at the 3D representation, I was able to change the point of view with the mouse.
  But when I return to 2D design screen, the screen will remain a 3D representation.

  The program seems to be back to 2D mode, but only the screen will not be redrawn.
  Then, when I move the mouse on the screen, it will be re-drawn gradually screen. It is hard to use.

  I owe 3D-Data made by Mike, and upload a screen shot. (Thanks to Mike)

     No1.jpg : Open Mike's Layout
     No2.jpg : 3DView and change the point of view with the mouse.
     No3.jpg : after 2D Design View button on the ribbon
     No4.jpg : Mouse moving on the screen

Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 23, 2016, 04:45:20 pm
OK, I've not seen that before, but I think it's easy to fix.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: TodaProduction on May 23, 2016, 04:48:38 pm
OK, thank you :-)
Title: Version 6 - Request for feature.
Post by: Future-Digital on May 23, 2016, 09:51:53 pm
David,

Is there a chance you could put in a button or icon in the Layers that will turn of ALL layers, except for the one marked in green?  I would be great. It would be even GREATER if on second clicking it turned BACK on all those which were originally on.

Bill

Oops, sorry. Just remembered it should have been posted on Wish List. I'll do better next time.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 24, 2016, 01:22:25 pm
@Bill: now that version 6 is out, and we don't have to add this type of functions twice (to 5 and 6), there's a good chance we can do this within a reasonable amount of time.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Future-Digital on May 24, 2016, 05:08:02 pm
Thank you. Much appreciated.

Bill
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Hoiiip on May 29, 2016, 05:56:53 pm
Bug fix needed on the Snapshot - the layout view is obstructed by messages, file listings, etc.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: David on May 29, 2016, 06:16:03 pm
We know this happens sometimes.
We're looking for a solution to this problem.
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: CharlesR on June 04, 2016, 02:35:15 pm
David, thanks for this update!  The days of saving the file and sending it to another program to get an idea of the 3D view are over.  Much appreciated.
Now I just need to figure out how to make tunnels and bridges.  Guess it is time to read the help file.

- Charlie
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: CharlesR on June 04, 2016, 03:19:26 pm
You did an amazing job with the tunnels and bridges.  Easy to figure out and use.  I like the fact that negative heights can be used. 
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: RhB_HJ on June 12, 2016, 01:17:42 am
Hi all,

I guess I need to get back up to speed with the new version i.e. get familiar with the "new and improved".
Been really busy with too many projects, very few involving track planning.  :o :o
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: Mike from CT on June 12, 2016, 08:32:01 am
Please pardon this off-topic post.  I plead sincerity.....

Quote from: RhB_HJ on June 12, 2016, 01:17:42 am
Hi all,

I guess I need to get back up to speed with the new version i.e. get familiar with the "new and improved".
Been really busy with too many projects, very few involving track planning.  :o :o



It's good to hear from you, H-J.  I was worrying about you.....
Title: Re: Version 6
Post by: RhB_HJ on June 12, 2016, 11:28:13 pm
Thanks Mike!

As mentioned there are a gazillion projects on the go. About the only time AR gets fired up is to show someone how to improve whatever they designed or why a certain approach will, invariably, lead to a, b and c problems. In other words: same old.  ;)  :D  ;D