News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

New Layout - welcome your comments.

Started by IoM, January 28, 2015, 09:26:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IoM

Hi,

I'm new to model railroads but have been planning a reasonably ambitious effort for a pretty long time now and ...hope....I've come up with a layout that will fit in my 15' x 17' space.

I posted just the bottom right hand side station on this forum back in June 2014 and have now incorporated your recommendations not only within the station but elsewhere on the rest of the track as its been completed. I know I need to carry out more work in getting all the track parallel, where appropriate. and will complete that before construction, however, I'd really welcome any comments you mighty have in improving the layout before I set out to start the build in the next month or two.

BritsTukker

Welcome back to the forum.
If this is  a first build, it's pretty ambitious - especially as you say you want to automate it.
Have you costed the whole thing, or is this of no concern?

You only have four inches clearance between the upper and middle levels, and this will not be enough to get your arms in to recover problems, not to mention the difficulty of seeing what's going on. At some points the clearance is even less (the hidden track to the right of the through station) - this is definitely asking for trouble.

Personally, I wouldn't attempt such a complex design as a first build.
I wish you well.

IoM

You've touched on one of the main problems I've experienced. In essence there are only 6" between each level to keep climbs at around 2%, but there are three spots where the vertical height clearance is 'minimal'! I thought I'd countered that by planning to build it on an L-girder basis which  would allow me access from below in an emergency.