News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Designing a 3-level Helix with 3 layers

Started by williamdor, March 01, 2017, 06:52:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

williamdor

I'm a newbie and struggling with trying to integrate 3 layers with a helix. Of course, my helix needs to come back down after going up. To further complicate things with each layer change is a change in the level's diameter (I'll use radius only to mean track radius). As you ascend the 1st level is 46" in diameter, 2nd level is 39.5" in diameter and the 3rd level is 32" in diameter. When you get to the 3rd level you come back down and increase diameters accordingly. See this at http://www.scottpages.net/PizzaN.htm -- it's. So it's an endless helix I am doing w/ flextrack.

I tried laying out a helix on the 1st layer, but could not get it to span the additional layers -- something fundamentally wrong with my tiny knowledge of AnyRail at this point. I have a trial version. Is this a problem, or is it all on me? Kinda need to know. Comments appreciated.

Mike from CT

(Bill also asked me by message.  What follows is a copy of my response to his message)

Easy answer first....

The trial version of AnyRail will handle 50 pieces of track.  Since I use flex track, I don't worry about the actual lengths of each pice, only the total length.  (You'll find, when actually laying track, you won't cut a straight piece, an easement and a curve separately, you'll lay out the track with one piece, when possible.)  If you don't worry about lengths, a circle can be laid out with 4 pieces of track (AnyRail won' lay out curves over 90 degrees in a single piece).   That would allow 12 1/2 loops in the helix.