News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

On30 in a Small Room

Started by Augydoggy, October 24, 2017, 06:18:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Augydoggy

I'm new to AnyRail and hadn't seen too many On30 track plans for small rooms.  I thought I'd share my plan here.

My design is for a narrow gauge short line in the Rockies somewhere.  Or maybe in the California coastal range near Monterey.  Haven't decided yet.  The main theme is mining but in-town switching is a main part of the fun for me.  Track is On30 code 83 with a minimum radius of 18".  Control is dead-rail with Arduino DCC++ via RF.  I'm also using Arduino for animation and sound control.

The room is 11.5' x 12' with a 3'7" x 8' closet.  The ceiling is 10' which allows me to run a second level using a helix.  The basic design is a shelf type layout along the walls with several small penninsulas to add special features like the roundhouse and the smelter.  In the beginning the  design was point-to-point with the roundhouse and yard at one end and the stamp mill at the other.  The wall along the bottom was originally left open to leave room for access.  After reading a book about layout design I decided I could add a drop-down leaf at the door (lower left) and run some track across the lower wall on a narrow shelf to add constant loop operation, tieing it in near the stamp mill.  My thinking here is that I can run a small rail bus at low speed on the loop in auto pilot mode and use that to make switching operations more interesting.  I know that's not prototypical but that doesn't matter to me.  I'm just doing this for fun.