News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

My first creation. Need some advice.

Started by cman82, November 28, 2017, 12:53:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cman82

This is my first creation. I'm a beginner and want to keep it simple. I'm going for a European look.
Trying to figure out what I should try and do.
The L part of the table will have a big mountain on it. I've got a yard and a place for a station with two tracks.

chaz

We usually start by learning about you and your goals...and then we can offer options and examples. So, can you provide a narrative for us.

What would make you smile when you walk in the room and when you operate your trains?

How does your layout make money?

Is this your first layout?

MP 525.25 on the Prosser Subdivision of the North Kansas Division of the MOPAC Railroad.

cman82

I'm going for a Switzerland/central European look. I want to keep it simple. I'm more about creating something nice. I want it to be more passenger.

Yes this is my first layout.

chaz

Kato track lends itself to layouts that look "boxy". It's not bad, but it's more interesting to see a little movement. Consider adding some gentle 15 degree curves to the long straight runs with some 20150, 71.8cm, 15 degree curves. A more advanced technique is to rotate the layout 7.5 degrees. It causes all the tracks to move toward and away from the edges of the layout.

Passenger wagons are often quite long and may not like your 24.9cm radius curves. I don't use any radius less than 28.2cm. If you have to use the 24.9cm curves, then place a 15 degree, 31.5cm curve at the entrance and the exit.

Avoid curves that reverse direction quickly.

MP 525.25 on the Prosser Subdivision of the North Kansas Division of the MOPAC Railroad.

cman82

Quote from: chaz on November 29, 2017, 08:09:29 PM