News

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Topic: Repositioning turnouts without disconnecting track  (Read 482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bob Bryce

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Repositioning turnouts without disconnecting track
« on: January 02, 2019, 02:27:23 am »
Hi David, Happy New Year!

Guess I get the first request of the year!  8) 8) 8)

Here it goes ...

When a turnout is placed in Anyrail, three legs of track are then attached to it.  Many times after doing so, you may find the turnout is not in the exact best position to make things work.  As I can tell, the only way to ever so slightly rotate the switch, or even re-position the switch, is to disconnect everything, move and/or rotate the switch to the next theoretically correct position, reattach the 3 legs and try it out.  If it did not work, start all over again.

Is it possible to incorporate an improvement that will allow the turnout to be either moved and/or rotated without disconnecting and re-attaching the legs, or even just all but one of the 3 legs.  I do realize this may be nearly impossible if using fixed track, but could it be done with flex track.  I also realize there may be adjustments to the flex track after the turnout is relocated, but it would be far easier to do this than the other way.

Again, Happy New Year!    ;D
« Last Edit: June 16, 2019, 04:41:56 pm by Bob Bryce »

Offline Bob Bryce

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Re: Repositioning turnouts without disconnecting track
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2019, 04:40:30 pm »
Hi David,

I would like to revisit this request I made several months ago.  Re-positioning a turnout can be quite a chore, even for small moves, as it is very difficult to determine the exact angle you need without going through all the moves I mention above.  Is it just not possible to allow a turnout to be moved when attached to any flex track, even if it is only attached to just one?  I know this request has not generated others to make comments as of yet, but I have a hard time believing many would not benefit from this feature.  Could you look into it and if it is not possible, let me know?

Offline RCMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Repositioning turnouts without disconnecting track
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2019, 01:19:16 pm »
Yes, Keep all the tracks attached to the turnout and only disconnect the tracks from the other tracks. Click on the turnout and the rotate symbol will show, use the Rotate function to move as it has 1/4" increments.  Also use the Cursor keys to move the group, much better than using the mouse as it is too coarse of a movement sometimes.

Offline Future-Digital

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
  • Quryosity incarnate. (Yea, I know its misspelled.)
    • Future-Digital International
Re: Repositioning turnouts without disconnecting track
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2019, 05:47:29 pm »
I could go for this, as well. I second (third?) the suggestion.

Bill