News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Critique my effort

Started by LXdaddy, April 27, 2020, 06:30:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LXdaddy

Like so many locked down individuals, my attention is caught by model railways after a very long time away from the hobby.

So I'm new to AnyRail and this forum, but you seem like a friendly bunch so here goes nothing.

I've let my imagination run wild and drawn up a plan for a model in a theoretical space almost 10m by 8m, so it's certainly not going to be built in real life I have neither the space nor the funds, but exercising the mind is almost as much good as exercising the body.

I'd welcome suggestions on what I could do to improve the plan.  I'm not looking at recreating a specific prototype but I would like to follow "typical" UK practice.

If you want a period then something after 1950s maybe 1980s to early 2000s.  I hope I've got the passenger services covered but it is (very) light on freight operations.

webmartians

Hi!
Your layout plan is very attractive; it has a good balance (something I have not been able to achieve in my design). Some questions:
  • How does Northney Goods Sorting work? Is that a gravity driven system?
    I have a much more elementary (and, with Z-scale, smaller) yard that is gravity "powered." Selecting the heights of each track connection has turned out to be difficult. One issue (for me; maybe not for you) is that I can buy Märklin pillars in sizes ranging from 4mm through 40mm. However, my maximum track height is 60mm. I can achieve that by, for example, a 20mm underlay and a 40mm pillar (or 40mm with 20mm). It is difficult to purchase in the US metrically sized product. The conversion factor of 2.54cm per inch has become well memorized.