News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Newbie looking for feedback and advice

Started by Shawn, June 07, 2020, 06:12:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shawn

Hello,

I am an extreme newbie with anyrail, I tried the trial version a few times, however never got the hang of it. Recently I decided to switch scales from HO to N and figured I would use anyrail to design my new layout. 

I bought the full program, and started to think of what I would like.  I have an area of 5 x 16 and wanted continuous run, so I used the N scale salt lake route as a base.  I want to use flex track since I can get more out of it however I am not sure I am doing any of this correctly. 

I have the mainline down, but still working on the yards/industries and not sure if I am on the right track (no pun intended). 

I have attached a copy of my work so far, so I am hoping those with more experience with anyrail can give me advice and let me know if everything looks okay.  I am trying to keep my min radius at 18 inches so I am not even sure I am setting those up correctly.  I am still working on figuring out my yards, and industries but I wanted to get some early feedback.

thank you
Shawn

David

Hi Shawn,

Just a few remarks:

Try to avoid diverging turnouts in the mainline.

Try to organize the fiddle yards in such a way that you don't need to use the mainline for each activity.

Make sure to keep enough distance between the tracks. One way to do this is to use the 'Trace' function from the SHOW tab. Set the trace width to the required track distance, and see if it overlaps.

Think of using multiple levels, perhaps to store trains in a hidden yard (under the mountains).