News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

First Layout Attempt Scaling Trouble

Started by TrickyZXR, January 26, 2021, 11:24:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TrickyZXR

Hi

Total newbie to AnyRail and my plan is to replicate a scale version of my home town mainline. I have grabbed Google Earth images to use as the background in order to get my layout as close as I can to the real thing. I have managed to get track to loosley follow the back ground image but I have obviously gone a bit wrong somewhere with the surface layout area / scale I think. Please see my attached plan.

So if anyone could advise on resolving the follwoing please would be greatly appreciated thank you.

To get image or surface to fit so I have not got 100 odd pages.
The image seems correct size as track fits to me.
Also my ruler show a distance of 36615 units do I divde this by the scale of track gauge used to get true lenght or is this layout going to be some 36615mm long!? I could add up the track lenghts but a lot of work when one has a ruler.

Thanks in advacne for any guidance and advise.

Regards,

Tricky

HG #1.any

BadBanana

I think you just lost control of the settings or scaling when you imported the drawing (easy to do).  I have pulled in the edges and reduced the size of the sheet, but without modifying your trackwork.  The number of pages is simply a function of the selected paper size if printing - you can print 1:1 for actual layout if required, but I often do my test prints at a much reduced scale (in the printer options).   

Does the attached version help at all?

TrickyZXR

Hi BadBanna,

Oh wow thank you so much for A) taking time to read and reply and B) for taking time to adjust it for me. You are a STAR  thank you so much. Yes that looks a lot better and track still adds on to size.