News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Hi all!

Started by toml_12953, March 12, 2021, 01:44:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

toml_12953

I'm a retired IT consultant who played with my Dad's train set in the late '50s and early '60s. I recently got the bug again and bought several post-war sets and a LionChief Plus 2.0 Polar Express set from Lionel. Other than the original oval that cam with sets, I wasn't able to figure out what I'd need to expand my layout. I found AnyRail and several other layout aids and tried them. AnyRail is the only one I kept and bought (50 pieces is used up quickly!) I've included an AnyRail file with my current layout. If anyone has suggestions, I'm certainly willing to listen! (suggestions to give up on trains and take up stamp collecting will be ignored)

magnus

Welcome!
Nice start, but I'm afraid it will be a bit boring pretty quickly - round and round. Add some side tracks where you can park cars. Maybe a yard.  Will you have a station? If so where do passengers go? What about freight cars, where are they going? What are the destinations? Where do trains come from and where do they go, and why? No train is just going round and round. Try to tell a story about your layout, what is going on? That will add more ideas to your layout.

There is plenty of tutorials online. A nice one, which uses AnyRail, and is going through the entire process is here
Check the first video in that series and see the story he is telling about what's going on and then how the layout follows from that. It will be much more interesting and fun, and potential for multi user operations.

Are you running DC or DCC?

Note that you have two reverse loops, so read up on that.

Good Luck with your layout and feel free to post questions and your layout here on the forum for feedback!

toml_12953