News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Moving objects between layers

Started by Lazyluap, May 20, 2021, 08:53:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lazyluap

Hi,

I'm relatively new to AnyRail, and using it to design my new layout, I'm getting on fine apart from one thing.

I've made a fairly basic error of putting the track on the wrong layer.

I have looked at the help topic for moving objects, but I cannot seem to get it to work.

I have linked a number of track elements together, I have selected the layer to move them to, but I am unable to drag them to the required layer.

Can anybody point me in the right direction to get this to work.

Many Thanks

BadBanana

Firstly, welcome to the forum.  Your first post asks about something that I missed for ages when I started out with AnyRail.

You don't do this by selecting the layer.  You do it by selecting the track pieces that you want to move.  So...

First you select the track pieces, and if the layer or layers that they are currently on is editable (that is shown as Unlocked in the layers table), then you should see a Layer: item on the toolbar/ribbon.  In that you tool should then see a dropdown menu, showing the current layer of the track pieces.  Click the arrow beside the current layer name to expand the layer list to show all of the current named layers.  You should then be able to select a different layer and that layer will then be applied to all of the elements that you had selected.  This works similarly for track items and any other kinds of items in the layout.

kiwi42