News:

Due to heavy spamming attempts on this forum, automatic registration has been disabled. We will approve registration requests as quickly as possible (unless you're a spammer of course :) )

Main Menu

Track paln for Huddinge Hill

Started by Huddinge, May 25, 2021, 08:52:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Huddinge

Hello, This is my first try on making a descent railway plan for "dreamlayout".
I'm a Marklin guy living in Sweden so this is drawn with Marklin C-track. The main purpose of
the layout is to have many trains running simultaneasly using Rocrail for automation. I would be very grateful if someone would take the time and have look at it and comment on it, good or bad.
My available space is marked in the file and is 3300mm by 1375mm
best regards Huddinge

magnus

Hej Huddinge!
Ambitious layout, it took me a while to understand it. Looks fun to run, but fairly complex for manual operations. The switching yards will not be easy to operate given that 3 of the 4 yard tracks on the Main level are on the main line. I think you should clearly separate the switching yard from the main line.

I'm not familiar with Rocrail, but it looks interesting.

Some general comments:
* A layout supports a purpose for the train, and it's tricky to critique without knowing what the trains are supposed to do? Passenger or freight? Stations, industries, side spurs, etc. You have a turntable, should I guess stream era? When steam disappeared, turntables disappeared too (mostly). Are you modeling Huddinge ;-)?
* As for the mainline, seems like you have a very long double folded dog bone? But it seems like trains can switch over to the meeting track on the main level before turning into the dog bone around the turntable, is that the idea?